Home > Uncategorized > Welcome

Welcome

So, this is the first post on Portertones.  I thought a quick discussion of what this site is for, and then an update on where I am now, musicwise.

What’s it all about then?

The idea is this:

  1. To have a central place where sound files of most of my pieces and scores for selected pieces are available for you to listed and read.
  2. To let people know what I’m doing musically (though why you’d want to know . . .)
  3. To give people a chance to comment on my stuff (constructively, I hope).

I used to do the first thing over on www.porternet.org, but it couldn’t allow for the interactive features, plus managing it myself was just too much hassle.

So, what we have here is a blog (which you are reading), pages for the pieces I’ve made available, and a ‘what I’m planning’ page.  Please explore and comment.

What am I up to?

Currently I’m finishing off  cycle of six songs on texts by poets from the Imagist movement.  In fact, I’m just starting song six of six.  Then I think I’ll have a bit of a rest, and then it’s the Trumpet Concerto.  I’m still not sure what to do about that one, but I do know that the idea is to essentially ‘borrow’ the concept of Schmidt’s fourth symphony (which, of course, begins and ends with a solo trumpet).

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

